Congratulations to Top 30 Woman, Carlotta Brown on being nominated for national Life Changer of the Year award


Jan. 17, 2019 – Six HISD educators have been nominated for the 2018-2019 national LifeChanger of the Year award.

Sponsored by the National Life Group Foundation, LifeChanger of the Year recognizes and rewards the very best K-12 educators and school district employees across the United States who are making a difference in the lives of students by exemplifying excellence, positive influence and leadership.

The following HISD educators have been nominated by students, colleagues, and parents:

  • Carlotta Brown, lead principal at Peck Elementary School
  • Olga Catoni, fifth-grade teacher at School at Saint George Place
  • Deitra Ford-Robinson, senior manager of South Area Special Education Services
  • TaNitra Robinson, second-grade teacher at B.K. Bruce Elementary Music Magnet School
  • Aletha Williams, chemistry teacher at Milby High School
  • Gina Wilkins, assistant principal at Woodson PK-5 Academy

“In HISD, we are changing student lives every single day,” Interim Superintendent Dr. Grenita Lathan said. “I am extremely proud of our educators for being a role model for our students and instilling in them a love for learning and a drive to succeed.”

Each year, LifeChanger of the Year receives hundreds of nominations from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. This school year they received more than 800 nominations.

  • The Grand Prize Winner will receive $10,000 to be shared with their school/district.
  • Four Grand Prize Finalists will receive $5,000 each to be shared with their school/district.
  • Ten LifeChanger Award Winners will each receive $3,000 to be shared with their school/district.
  • One Spirit Award Winner will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school/district. This award is given to the nominee whose community demonstrates the most support for their nomination.
  • One Spotlight Award Winner will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school or district. This award is given to a nominee in a specific discipline each year. For 2018-19, the Spotlight Award will be given to a nominee who works in a counseling role (e.g, guidance counselor, social worker).

Winners are announced at surprise award ceremonies held at their schools. The grand prize finalists will also be honored at a national awards ceremony in April 2019 in Hawaii, where the Grand Prize Winner will be revealed.

Winners are chosen by a selection committee comprised of former winners and education professionals. Nominees must be K-12 teachers or school district employees.


Comments are closed.